Skip to content

Training at It’s Finest

October 21, 2011

Why I Love the Heartland University of Scouting

By Michele Kennedy, Pack 86  – Soaring Eagle District

The Heartland University of Scouting (HUOS)  is an awesome place to get great information and to make connections with people who will then become your friends. I attended my first HUOS when my son was a Wolf or Bear. I did not know what I was getting myself into but went with an open mind. At the end of that day I left with my mind swimming in ideas!

The following year I was asked to teach a class. I hesitated at first and then said, “What the heck.” I have taught that class for the past 3 years now. Last year I added another class that I taught and loved it.

I think I learn just as much as the adults that are coming into my class learn. I have seen both sides of it, as a student and as an instructor, and make sure I mark the first Saturday in November on my calendar every year in January.  I have made so many connections with people and now when I am out at a Roundtable, or at any Scouting event, I will run into them and it is like we see each other all the time.

The friends you make in Scouting and the things you learn are things that you will take with you for the rest of your life! If you have not had the opportunity to go, please sign up and experience the experience,  I have and I am so glad that I did.

This year’s Heartland University of Scouting is Saturday, November 5 at Boys’ Town in Omaha, Nebraska. To learn more or download the registration packet, please click here.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

